Unpoppable!

Sunday, July 5, 2009

The Finale: 21-30 of 30 Songs I Can’t Live Without

Filed under: Couch Potato-isms,Life Online — jungzx @ 6:25 pm
Tags: ,

This has got to be by far the most difficult meme I’ve had to answer.
Granted, I didn’t really have to, but I was in a meme kinda mood when I was tagged. And now, a week and a half later, I’m finally sitting down to finish what I started.

Oh and if this is the first one you’re reading, part 1 is here and part 2 here.

Let’s get down to business.

21. Ryan AdamsWonderwall
The YouTube video is slightly different than the mp3 I have, but it still possesses that vibe. That vibe — the confusing one — where my body can’t decide whether it’s going to come or cry or come or cry or both.
Let’s not forget, Oasis’ original was good, but Ryan Adams just completely changed the feeling of this song in its entirety. Ah, love, lust, and awesome cover versions.

22. Jon McLaughlinSo Close
And here you see how much of a cheeseball I can be.
And how much movie soundtracks matter to me, too.
How the song is used in a movie can make me love it or hate it. I honestly can’t tell if I would have fallen in love with the song the same way had I not first heard/seen it in Enchanted. But, no matter, I love it now. I’m all rainbows and butterflies and ladeedah once this song starts.
Should Eric Benet fail me (see previous posts), I’m jumping to Jon McLaughlin for Future Wedding Song #2.

The next 2 songs that are here for the same reason: Hopelessness.
23. Amy WinehouseLove Is A Losing Game
Simple, straightforward words on this one, but Amy Winehouse’s voice expresses resignation and despair in ways that spoken words can’t.

24. The FrayVienna
“There’s really no way to reach me, because I’m already gone.”
Yeah, sometimes I feel completely alone. This song rubs it in. I should hate it, but I love it all the more for that. Ugh. I sound like a certain lame character from a dreadfully-written book whose movie version was even worse.

25. Alanis MorissetteYour House
First off, if I had it my way, I’d put the entire Jagged Little Pill album on here. But I’m not gonna do that, am I?
Your House was the bonus track I almost missed on the cassette tape I bought with my own money because it wasn’t listed on the sleeve.
I left the tape running accidentally at what I thought was the end of it. There was a long lull. Then Alanis started narrating, singing a cappella. I’m not even a big fan of narratives, but it was almost like she really did just walk into her boyfriend’s house, saw the letter that wasn’t in her writing saying “Hello, Love. I love you so, Love,” and broke into song before finally breaking down in tears.

26. Damien RiceBlower’s Daughter
Again, with the raw, almost a cappella song. Again, with the movie soundtrack.
Again, with the simple words + beautiful melody + dreamy voice = musical gold! :)

27. Moony Acrobats (Looking for Balance)
Before you raise an eyebrow in judgment, let me explain:
I’m not a big fan of house, or clubs that play house, or dancing to house, or dancing as a whole. But I did have 1 or 2 albums with music like this that kept me company years and years ago (mixed in with my Slapshock and Up Dharma Down and The Killers, uh huh). Songs like this and this and this take me back to the times I can no longer remember. All I recall are the good places these bunch of songs took me to.

28. StillwaterFever Dog
Nothing beats a live performance of really good rock songs. Now if this were an actual song from an actual band, then I would love to see this live because the energy from when this song was used for like a minute in Almost Famous was crazy.
From the first few hits of the drum alone, you know you’re in for a rockin’ good time. (And I’m sorry that last line sounded like an old-fashioned slogan for some radio show.)

29. Our Lady Peace Somewhere Out There
I came across this song at a time in my life when I was still unbelievably naive and had no idea what I was getting myself into. It brings back cringeworthy memories, but at the same time, reminds me of how far I’ve come.
Also, it’s just a really pretty song.
After all I’ve learned though, I still don’t know what purple hair is supposed to be. Don’t tell me; I don’t want to know.

30. 3 Doors DownAway From The Sun
This song was mine once. Not legally or rightfully even, but mine in a sense that the words sounded exactly like the ones I would write on my notebook/makeshift journal.
I still call it my Suicide Song.
Not that I was or am suicidal, but if I were, this would be the song I’d off myself to. (Disclaimer: All these things, I think, not do. Suicide is a bad idea… not to mention fuckin’ lame.) I’m not trying to be morbid. I’m just saying, like a lot of the songs on this list, this one’s on it because it hit a sensitive spot, not a sexily sensitive spot, but an emotional bullseye.

31. …No, wait.

THAT’S IT! I survived a 3-part blog entry! Having to list down 30 essential songs to the soundtrack of my life was harder than I thought. I’m sure, in the coming days, I’d be coming up with about 5 more songs I’d want to add and more. But I won’t. Oh well. I did say these songs were put up in random order, except the order in which they popped into my brain.

Hopefully some of you guys got this far, too.

Now, no more memes, no more tags at least for the time being. I’m fresh out of song titles.

2 Comments »

  1. […] here. Comments […]

    Pingback by 11-20 of 30 Songs I Can’t Live Without (still without a better title) « Unpoppable! — Sunday, July 5, 2009 @ 6:29 pm | Reply

  2. wheee! thanks for giving me a list of songs to download!

    Comment by alphasensei — Sunday, July 5, 2009 @ 10:58 pm | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

